My first visit to a Kovil

I don’t believe I’ve ever gone to a “kovil”…… until today morning. I didn’t expect much when I went there, but once I got there, despite my disbelief in belief of my fate is in a gods hand, it was a really remarkable scene.

With the blazing trumpet & the drums (dont know what their exact names) stood at the end of the corridor a statue of god “Vishnu” in a well lit room. This cloths statue was gleaming (most probably it may have being washed in milk in the morning) with showered flowers everywhere. The priest, very active, was making his voice heard over to the other end of the 30 meter corridor which all the followers enter the kovil. Couldn’t get much close to have a better look, but the fragrances that wafted from burning many powders (kunkuma etc.) & burning oil etc takes you to a feeling of a totally different trance. It was truly a remarkable experience. It was also a proud moment for me where I could point and say that this was part of my culture.

Leave a Reply

